We represent injured people with all types of accident claims

Fort Lauderdale Hit and Run Accident

What are My Options in a Hit And Run Accident?

Many people assume that if they have been injured in a hit and run car accident in Fort Lauderdale and the at-fault driver is never found, they cannot get insurance money for the accident. After all, the other driver's insurance company and insurance information is not available if they are never found. However, under Florida law you do have options:

  • You can turn to your own insurance company for uninsured or underinsured coverage if you have it
  • You can find other liable parties in order to pursue a legal claim against them
  • You can work with a private investigator or find another way to find the at-fault driver

If you have been hit in a hit and run accident, contact a personal injury attorney in Fort Lauderdale or your community order to find out what your options may be. An injury attorney can review your insurance coverage and can help you understand where you can find compensation for your lost wages, medical bills, and other expenses.

What are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

Leaving the scene of an accident without exchanging information or stopping to offer assistance is considered a crime in Florida. There are severe penalties for this crime, although the exact consequences will depend on the damages and injuries sustained:

  • If someone leaves the scene of an accident where property damage has occurred, they may be charged with a second degree misdemeanor. This means that they may also face penalties that include up to 60 days in jail, a fine of up to 500 dollars, and up to six months of probation.
  • If someone leaves the scene of an accident where an injury has occurred, they may be charged with a third-degree felony. They may be sentenced up to a level 5 offense, which can mean penalties that could include up to five years in prison, fines of up to $5000, and up to five years of probation.
  • If someone leaves the scene of an accident where a fatality has occurred, they may be charged with a first-degree felony. They may be sentenced at a level 7 offense, which means they may face up to 21 months in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and 15 years of probation.

After any car or truck accident in Fort Lauderdale or anywhere in Florida it is a good idea to exchange information and to stop to see whether anyone is hurt, to ensure that you are not accused of a hit and run accident.

To find out how much your case can be worth and to find out whether you have a case, contact the Flaxman Law Group. Our personal injury attorneys work with reconstruction experts, expert witnesses, private investigators, and other professionals to help you build a strong case so that you get fair compensation. Our attorneys have more than 60 years of experience handling drunk driving accidents, hit and run car accident, truck collisions, and other accident cases. We're here to help and we have dedicated our lives to aggressively pursuing the rights of plaintiffs across South Florida. Contact our offices today to arrange a free consultation.